Municipal Court

Valley View Municipal Court:

308 W. Obuch St.
P.O. Box 268
Valley View, TX 76272


Hours: Monday – Thursday 7:30am-2:30pm

** exception of 1st Monday each month Court begins at 3pm

Pay Fines Online

Request for Driver Safety Course
Request for Deferred Disposition

Clerk: Tina Ferguson –

Judge: Carroll Johnson

Prosecutor: Kyle Kemp


Options For Handling A Citation

  • Paying in Full
  • Compliance Dismissal
  • Driving Safety Course
  • Deferred Disposition
  • Contest Your Citation

Paying In Full

The Court accepts the following payment methods:

  • Cash
  • Money orders
  • Cashier’s Check
  • Credit cards accepted with additional processing

A plea of no contest or guilty must be entered and will result in a conviction for the offense. Payment can be submitted in person at Valley View City Hall, placed in the dropbox on the back of City Hall, or through mail by cashier’s check or money order payable to City of Valley View at PO BOX 268, Valley View, TX 76272.

Citation Dismissal by Demonstrating Compliance

The following offenses MAY be dismissed by the Court Clerk if the violation has been corrected within 10 business days and payment of a dismissal fee.

  • Expired Motor Vehicle Registration
  • Expired Driver’s License
  • No Driver’s License
  • Failure to Change Address on Driver’s License within 30
  • Failure to Display Driver’s
  • Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility (No Insurance) can be dismissed at no charge if valid insurance coverage on the day the citation was written is verified.

Driving Safety Course (not for Commercial Driver License holders.)

Depending on your citation, You MAY be eligible to request that a charge be dismissed by taking a Certified Driving Safety Course. However, you will lose that right if you do not provide written notice and submit payment to the Court of your desire to do so on or before your Court date as indicated on your citation.


  1. You must enter a written plea of Guilty or No Contest and waiver of rights to a jury
  2. You must possess a valid Texas Driver’s
  3. You must possess Texas Liability Insurance valid the day of your
  4. You cannot be charged with speeding in excess of 24 miles per
  5. You cannot be currently be taking the course for another
  6. Your Driving Record cannot reflect completion of a Driving Safety Course within twelve(12) months preceding the date of the alleged offense.

You may order a driving record (form 3A) at

You must provide the Court with a Request For Driver’s Safety Course form on or before your Court date. If you appear in person at the Court Clerk’s Office, please bring your valid driver’s license, proof of insurance (showing coverage on the date you received the citation and the date of your request) and administrative fee payment. Upon Court approval to take the course, you will have (90) ninety days in which to provide the Court with the following documents:

  1. The “Court Certificate” of completion of the Driving Safety Course from an agency approved by the Texas Education Agency.
  2. A certified copy of your Driving Record as maintained by the Texas Department of Public (Please request this immediately as it may take several weeks to receive.)

If both of these documents are not filed with the Court within 90 (ninety) days, you will be responsible for paying the remainder of your fine and a conviction for the offense will be reported to the Texas DPS.

Deferred Disposition

Depending on your citation, you may be able to request that your citation for a moving violation be dismissed by complying with the terms and conditions of Deferred Disposition. However, you will lose this right if you do not provide written notice to the Court of your desire to do so before your due date using the Request For Deferred Disposition form.



Eligibility requirements for Deferred Disposition.

  1. You must provide proof of a valid insurance and valid Texas driver’s
  2. You must enter a written plea of Guilty or No Contest and waiver of rights to a jury
  3. You must pay the probationary fee in full at the time of the request.
  4. You cannot have been charged with speeding in excess of 24 miles per hour over the posted speed
  5. You cannot currently be on probation for another citation in Cooke County.
  6. The offense cannot have occurred in a construction zone with workers

NOTE: If you are under the age of 25 or the offense occurred in a school zone, you must attend a Drivers Safety Course and present proof of completion to the Court. Under 25 Provision is required by state law

C.C.P. Article 45.051b(b-1) and cannot be waived by the courts.


Upon Court approval for Deferred Disposition, you will be placed on probation for a period not to exceed six months in order to comply with the terms and conditions of the Court.

Upon completion of the terms and conditions of the probation, your citation will automatically be submitted to the Judge for dismissal resulting in no conviction.

Failure to comply with the terms of probation may result in the offense being reported to your driving record.

Contest Your Citation

If you wish to contest a citation, you need to appear ON YOUR COURT DATE at 3:00pm for a pre-trial or plea hearing with the prosecutor and the judge.

Note: Only you or an attorney representing you can enter a plea on your behalf.MAY